Skip to main content

2017-18 AG Scholarship Recipients Announced

2017-18 Department of Agriculture scholarship recipients

During this spring’s BTS 400 Student Success Seminar: College to Careers, seven Agriculture students were awarded scholarships. Additionally, they presented the distinguished alumnus award for the agriculture department.

College to Careers, required for graduating CBT seniors, provides an opportunity students to connect on a professional level to the workforce they will soon be entering. Speakers, many of whom are departmental alumni, share insights to help prepare graduating students for the transition from college to their professional career.

Keynote speaker for the day was the 2018 Agriculture Department’s Distinguished Alumnus, was awarded to Representative Jonathan Shell.

Scholarships and the award recipients for 2017-2018:

Charles C. & Betty C. Combs Memorial Endowed Scholarship.

Established in l985 by Charles C. Combs, Jr., Clark C. Combs and Craig C. Combs to honor the memory of their late mother and father and to promote the education of deserving students who enroll full-time at EKU. A scholarship is awarded each year to an outstanding junior or senior student enrolled in the Department of Agriculture with a minimum GPA of 3.25 with enthusiasm for agriculture and demonstrated participation in extracurricular activities. This year's recipients: Bethany Cruse, Keeley Foley, Mackenzie Mahon.

Glenn W. Hayes Endowed Scholarship

Established in l995 to promote education of deserving students enrolled full-time in the Dept. of Agriculture in honor of Dr. Glenn Hayes. The award is restricted to a Junior or Senior with an academic record conveying probability of success, excellent leadership, positive interpersonal relationship and strong character. This year's recipients were Jeran Lane and Emily Osborne.

Madison County Home Tobacco Scholarship

Awarded to a deserving student from Madison County, Kentucky whose major course of study at Eastern is Agriculture. This year the scholarship was awarded to Kasi Schneid.

Michael Judge Endowed Scholarship and Hamilton Horticulture Scholarship

Established in 2012, in memory of Mr. Michael Judge, a devoted Farm Director and faculty member of the Agriculture Department for twenty years.  The Judge scholarship is awarded annually to a Junior or Senior Agriculture student with a minimum G.P. A. of 3.0 and financial need. This year's recipient: Bryanna Warner. Warner also received the Hamilton Horticulture Scholarship.

Published on April 27, 2018

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/