Skip to main content

Inside Look

Schlosnagle wins National FFA American Star Award

Chelsey Schlosnagle at the National FFA Convention

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Saturday, Nov. 2, 2013/National FFA Organization) – FFA members from Illinois, Kentucky, Wisconsin and Georgia earned the most prestigious honor awarded to a student by the National FFA Organization Saturday at the 86th National FFA Convention & Expo in Louisville, Ky.

Richardson and Wanstead form Saddle Club

Hanna Richardson and Shelly Wanstead (photo: James Hoskins, Progress)


The Saddle Club is a new club on campus that is focused on bringing horse riders and those who are interested in riding together.

EKU Agriculture Department Homecoming

EKU Agriculture: Great Journeys Begin Here
Agriculture Department Chili Cook-off and Open House Honoring Dr. Stephen Black

Saturday, October 19th, 2013

EKU Agriculture Department Homecoming

11:30 am to 2:00 pm

Stateland Dairy wins 2nd place production award

Stateland Dairy barn

EKU's Stateland Dairy brought home top awards again this year from the 2013 Dairy Recognition Dinner held in Louisville.

Located on Meadowbrook Farm, Stateland Dairy won second place in their category.  The Production Awards were sponsored by the Kentucky Dairy Development Council and Kentucky Farm Bureau. Last year, Stateland Dairy won the top Production Award prize.

KCA to award five $1,000 scholarships to incoming AG freshmen

2012 KCF Scholarship Winners

The Kentucky Cattlemen's Association Youth Scholarship will award five $1,000 scholarships to incoming college freshmen who plan to major in agriculture. 

Kentucky Cattlemen's Foundation Scholarship requirements:

AG Faculty Recognized at 2013 Critical Thinking Teaching of the Year Awards

2013 Critical Thinking Teaching of the Year Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Ed Fredrickson and Dr. Laurie Rincker from the Department of Agriculture who were nominated for the Critical Thinking Teacher Award.

Rebekah Booth Receives the Eastern Kentucky University Outstanding Intern Award

Dr. Frank Skipworth and Rebekah Booth

Agriculture major, Rebekah Booth received the Outstanding Intern Award at the annual Outstanding Co-Op/Intern of the Year Award Ceremony held April 11, 2013.  Rebekah, a senior from Belfry, Kentucky was one of 950 students nominated for the award.

AG student recognized at annual Student-Athlete Academic Awards breakfast

Student Athlete Academic Awards breakfast

Eastern Kentucky University student-athletes gathered in the Keen Johnson Ballroom on April 10th for the annual Student-Athlete Academic Awards Breakfast. The event, hosted by the Bratzke Center, featured EKU President Doug Whitlock as guest speaker and honored more than 275 student-athletes for academic achievement over the past year.

AG selects Frank Skipworth as 2013 distinguished alum

Dr. Frank Skipworth

EKU's Department of Agriculture, along with the School of Applied Arts and Technology, is pleased to announce that Dr. Franklin R. Skipworth has been selected as their departmental distinguished alum for 2013.

Dr. Skipworth was honored during a presentation on Friday, April 5, 2013, at the annual College of Business and Technology College to Careers senior recognition luncheon.

Lillard named as 2013 AG distinguished senior

Brannon Lillard

Mr. Brannon Lillard has been named the 2013 Distinguished Senior for EKU's Department of Agriculture. He was honored during a presentation on Friday, April 5, 2013, at the annual College of Business and Technology College to Careers senior recognition luncheon.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/